morning light

Early light pools onto a table
covered in coarse farmhouse linen
and the crumbs off of a loaf
of hand made bread. Right now,
anything is possible:
I could be
your lover or the mother
of a great historical figure.
In this light, the jug I keep water
in could become the great grecian
urn to tempt future poets.
What stories
will these relics tell about me
when the archeologists come?
What you decide when you read
these lines, when you watch me
after waking, before taming
my hair, is the truth only
in this morning light.
And this light
will be long gone by that day.

8 Comments

Filed under Musings, poetry, writing

8 responses to “morning light

  1. Amazing.
    Excellent poem slynne.

  2. Thank you. I’ve actually been a little annoued with it as the formatting is off. The shorter lines are supposed to be tabbed in, offset to the right, but wordpress is messing with me.

  3. Yeah.
    It only seems to happen with some themes
    but I don’t know.

    I still like it.

  4. Beautiful poem! I love the line “I could be/your lover or the mother/of a great historical figure.” And great title.

  5. This is my favorite part
    could become the great grecian
    urn to tempt future poets.

    Love that imagery.

  6. Great poem. Great idea. I just love your word choices. So strong. Each word is meant to be there.

  7. Rax

    “I could be/your lover or the mother/of a great historical figure/In this light, the jug I keep water/in could become the great grecian/urn to tempt future poets.”

    Wow. Wonderful imagery. I like the quiet tone that takes one from image to image fluidly but at the same time highlighting them in that “Morning light”. sort of serenity. Beautiful closing too. Exquisite 😀

  8. This is delightful, slynne! The mood is deply evocative and intimate; draws the reader close and decsribes something we all wonder about. How we will be noticed and noted after our light has moved on … kind of the crux between mortality and eternity.

    I so know what you mean about format frustration .. There’s one i’ve kept trying to format there but it just won’t! You could try and make it a jpeg but then the reader has to be willing to click around a bit to get a readable view …

    Anyhow, i loved this poem!

    Shell

Leave a comment