I think I’m falling in love with you poem

Oh, you searchers. No fewer that ten people found this blog in the last week with this search. Unfortunately, I am not in love. Nor will I be falling any time soon, it seems, unless the sky falls in. However, my public is asking for it (perhaps because you are all so aware of Valentine’s day around the corner. Please note, I’ve never had a Valentine. Not a real one, anyway, as I think it’s the fakest of all fake holidays)… sooooo…

I wake up and there
you are, a voice beneath
the rustle of sheets,
a motion at the corner

of my eye. When I hold
the thin plastic handle
of my toothbrush and squeeze
the toothpaste onto the stiff
bristles, I do it for you.

Your name rolls in my brain
like a prayer beneath all else,
and I’ll listen for your call all
night. Behind the smiles
of everyone I see, your eyes
waver and crinkle. This poem
is my notice to you:
I think I’m falling in love.

3 Comments

Filed under lust and love, poetry, Searchers

3 responses to “I think I’m falling in love with you poem

  1. whoever this may be will be fortunate

  2. Thanks, quaze. A dear old friend recently wrote to me to take exception to my comment that I’ve never had a Valentine. Ali does send lovely hand made ones every year. They are the only good thing about this otherwise hallmark invented holiday. She puts all of herself in them. Watch for a post about that closer to the actual day. If only because I love Ali so.

  3. what a great poem…and so unsentimental…which I guess makes it unacceptable for v-day.

Leave a Reply

