Perseid Sky

I.

Meet me beneath the meteor streaked sky
tonight. Years ago, you asked to stay here,

and now I want to change my answer. I went
to a bar the other day and ordered a vodka tonic,
it should have been a gin. At least it wasn’t the worst

mistake I ever made. Tonight, I’m alone. I want
to correct all of my bad choices. My worst

choice was made on a day so hot. Meet me
tonight beneath this perseid sky, meet me.

II.

I know. I know you will not come. I know it
the same way I know how the sky will glow tonight.
I know that thin sparkling ribbons will unravel themselves
against this black velvet curtain. I know from experience.

I will wait for you, though. I will sit in the park
at the end of my street. I will sit until 1 o’clock, 2 o’clock, 3.

This waiting is an act of love, an act of nature like any other.

III.

Don’t think that this is an act of stupidity. I know
when I am not loved, but this is an act
of something else. Something more extraordinary than love. I will only call to you once more.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Perseid Sky

  1. mybeautifulleah

    “I went
    to a bar the other day and ordered a vodka tonic,
    it should have been a gin. At least it wasn’t the worst

    mistake I ever made. ”

    I love that.

Leave a Reply

