What I wanted

I wanted to write a poem about the tall brown grass
I drive past on the way to work. About how so many cars
pass this patch I watched while I waited on the off ramp,
about the way it sways. I wanted to say it once was flexible,

once it was green and fleshy. Lately, I adjust my bra straps
over my shoulders and long for my body to be solid
as it was a few years ago. I wish I could feel hard bone
and muscle close beneath my skin. I wish that I would shrink
like the grass as I age, instead of expanding, instead of continuing.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “What I wanted

  1. Amazing. I love what you do with alliteration in the first stanza.

  2. i really like this! it’s short, but powerful.

Leave a Reply

