At the end of the first quarter: a teacher’s lament

I tell you no, you cannot
go outside to pile orange
leaves and invite your friends
to jump in, though I want to

say yes. I know how the feel
of dry leaves against skin,
how finding them in pockets
and shoes later, could fill
any empty moment with joy.

Instead, I ask you to clean
the classroom tables, to write
personal information neatly
on forms, to read to a younger

cild and complete a test. All along
I wonder how you would be
if you could only follow quick

a wide arch, let your feet leave
the ground, and send all your
hard work flying, bright against
a matte grey fall sky.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “At the end of the first quarter: a teacher’s lament

  1. Great poem and great final image. This reminds me of when I used to teach. I found the discipline side of it so difficult.

Leave a Reply

