So Polite

you barge thru all the doors,
empty all my drawers
take it all back, then blame

you pushed me up against
my car when I asked you
to go, you shoved your hands

into my pants, and when
I pushed back, you cried
while I was inside you,

then put on your clothes
and walked out the door
with my shirts, my ring,

it takes weeks
to scrape my limp body
out of bed. It takes months

for the scars to fade, it takes
my happiness to make
you call. but the surgery

is complete, the sutures
have healed, my replacement
wooden heart has its place.

hear it thump, hear the hollow
sound, so satisfying, now
I’m just like the rest.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “So Polite

  1. OK, editing right here… You ready for this?

    1) I moved the last stanza. I liked it best, thought it strongest…

    2) I changed the tense here and there, for unification…

    hear the thump, hear the hollow
    sound, so satisfying, now
    I’m just like the rest.

    you barge thru all doors,
    empty all my drawers
    take it all back, then blame

    you push me up against
    my car when I ask you
    to go, you shove your hands

    into my pants, and when
    I push back. you cried
    while I was inside you,

    then put on your clothes
    and walked out the door
    with my shirts, my ring,

    it takes weeks
    to scrape my limp body
    out of bed. It takes months

    for the scars to fade, it takes
    my happiness for you to
    call. but the surgery

    is complete, the sutures
    have healed, my replacement
    wooden heart has its place.

  2. Another edit…

    hear the thump, hear the hollow
    satisfying, now
    I am the rest. I am the red

    marks at the center
    of my chest. you barge thru
    all doors, empty all my drawers

    take it all back, then push me
    against my car when I ask you
    to go, shove your hands

    into my pants, and when
    I push back… you cried
    while I was inside you,

    then put on your clothes
    and walked out the door
    with my shirts, my ring,

    it takes weeks
    to scrape my body
    out of bed. It takes months

    for the scars to fade, it takes
    my happiness for you to
    call. but the surgery

    is complete, the sutures
    have healed, my replacement
    wooden heart has its place.

Leave a Reply

