And Another

I will feed her your
essence, the last gift
you gave me

to nourish this moment
of golden sun, these seconds
between one breath

and another. I will give her the blankets
you once laid beneath, the touch
you once treasured. It will all become

hers before she steps back out
into the ether that is fogs
lifting off late summer

pavement, before I kiss her
in the street, in front of her door
like she kissed the my shoulder blades

last night before telling me
to sleep. How I wanted all this, to feel
this skin, to suck this marrow

but then she was gone
and I had to find someone
to nourish with what I had left of her.

Leave a comment

Filed under lust and love, muse, Musings

Leave a Reply

