Sex with someone new

I heart Poco. You should check out what a few amazing ladies are letting me participate in over on our sisterly site!

This poem is whats known as an exquisite corpse. The amazingly fantastic poetry blogger Polka Dot Witch and I decided on a theme *sex with someone new* and then I wrote a line with 5-8 words. Being nice and tricksy, I kept this line to myself and sent Polka the last two words of my line. She then wrote the next line and sent me HER last two words. After we had 16 of these mystery lines, we filled in the blanks. The original, with no edits, is on the POCO site. What follows is how I have edited it to finish. Polka will also be posting hers.

sex with someone new

I’ll reach out for the skin, the flesh of another.
Variety entices, but I always prolong this

yearning for unfamiliar skin, for teeth
taking away bits of flesh, until it’s
impossible to know time and place. Your
temptation – See in me the girl who runs

fingernails down your spine, presses breasts
against breasts. Hold on to me –
I’m slowly sliding hands up your legs, never
will you guess how much

to trust, how long to stay.
A small flame, the tiniest blaze
ignites this pyre and leaves behind only ash –
mark my face with sooty stripes, I will take

this warrior stance, this posture of holy
strength and verve. Say my name:

It sparks on your tongue.

1 Comment

Filed under lust and love, poetry

One response to “Sex with someone new

  1. LK

    Your writing is still heartstopping, Stacey. It always will be.

Leave a Reply

