A run will clear your heart

Film of water on sidewalks
this morning was still
though drops are falling
in the heat thickend air.

You are a poem I wanted
to write without the word I.
I couldn’t do it, so now
I am running, feet falling

in puddles to break this
silence; with each shoe fall,
the world hears our name, you
and I, and you. It’s always

full circle. I start at my front
door, and even the cars passing
are silent, the sun rises silently as I run
away from home, into the circus

that is you circling in my mind.
I think about the trees, rocks,
water falling in fat crystal droplets
from powerlines, but the poem of you
without an I keeps coming back
into focus. When I run, I run away

from my house and to a trail full
of other people and ducks, rabbits and mud.
I run away and it feels like I’ll never
come back, I’ll never be done, until I turn around
and return. Coming back is just like leaving

in reverse. And I am coming back
to the poem of I with no you in it.

5 Comments

Filed under lust and love, Musings, poetry, work

5 responses to “A run will clear your heart

  1. I love the feel of this, the quietness and the running…and the phrase “you are a poem I wanted to write”, not sure I’m getting the “without the word I” part though. All the you’s and I’s have me a little confused on what’s what. But I like how it came across when I just read the first part of the phrase. It seems to symbolize a lot, at least for me, just thinking of how intimate and personal it is for a poet to choose to write about someone and I like the idea of this poem you can or cannot write being a metaphor for the success of the relationship, if that makes sense.

  2. I like this too. And I think “the poem of you
    without an I” is a lovely, sad phrase. And then to have it flipped at the end into “the poem of I with no you in it” is just wonderful. Very much full circle like the poem says.

    Did you enjoy your damp run this morning?

  3. I’ll take your comments into consideration when drafting. I often talk about words themselves too much in my first drafts, prob because words tend to be the most important things to me.

    And thank you Emily.

    I did enjoy my run. I ran all the hills extra times just to be sure I got enough in. Mandy was wanting to go slow, though. Arrgh.

  4. polkadotwitch

    i love this. as a runner who’s been out of it for a while and struggling to get back in, it’s inspiration. (it’s inspiration as a poet, too.)

  5. Your poem is refreshing! I understand the part of “without the I,” a kind of fleeing from anego-centered life. It’s also a stylistic change a writer would like to make. The narrator has let the reader into the back door of the poem.

    I see the narrator as running from a relationship, at least for the moment. The you could be another person, or it could refer to another aspect of the narrator.

    But a circle is formed, a container for the narrator’s life.

    Makes me want to go on a run too!

Leave a Reply

