Poetry assignment

Today, read some John Berryman. Berryman’s best know work are his dream songs, a group of poems that include elegies of famous poets, ramblings about girls eating in diners, and threats to shoot himself on his father’s grave. Berryman was obsessed with sex and the idea that children whose fathers committed suicide were doomed to end the same way. He fulfilled this prophsey when he shot himself.

What do you think of the way that he openly exposes his life in deamons with his dual narrators (Henry and Mr. Bones)? Was this bravery, was it insanity, was it a mix of the two? Do you consider him a confessional poet? (I sort of do. I think that he is not popularly known as such because he is a man, but I think that he was quite confessional, in hie own twisted way.)

For those of you who don’t know, Berryman’s poetry is foreceful and sometimes graphic. Do you think that this is a mode that you would be comfortable with?

3 Comments

Filed under April Poetry readings and discussions

3 responses to “Poetry assignment

  1. emily

    i do most definitely consider berryman to be a confessional poet.

    and a bit crazy. and brave too.

    would comment more, but i’m trying to get ready to leave work.

  2. I hadn’t really read anything of his
    but I was rather endeared by your description.

    They kind of confused me slightly at first
    but I think I’m getting into the swing of them.
    I’m on dream-song 114
    and I can’t get enough of them!

    Thanks slynne.
    B

  3. I’m glad you liked the Berryman. She stuffs her face with paprika chicken (or however it opens) is a big fave of mine.

    I alwasy liked his way of interacting with himself.

    I think that all of us can give in to the tendancy to interact mainly with ourselves from time to time.

Leave a Reply

