April Poetry Showers

Those of you who actually know me, you may notice that I have been posting assignments on my facebook. Yesterday, everyone was to read Adrienne Rich (her poem “White Night” is my favorite. Go on, look it up.)

What did you think of her work? I heard her read a few years ago. It was wonderous.

Today’s assignment was to go old school with William Blake (London is my favorite of his poems). While reading his poetry, also take time to look at some of his etchings.

OK Discuss. What did each of these people give to poetry? What did they do for you? Do you like them? How are they different or the same?

3 Comments

Filed under April Poetry readings and discussions

3 responses to “April Poetry Showers

  1. No one has really said anything yet, so I will.

    I connected to Blake’s poetry when I was a senior in college. I was writing A LOT that year, and I also took a printmaking course, which made me really know that I loved art because it was hard, but I was drawn to the studio. I cried over those plates, and infused each one with poetry.

    I think that Blake’s etchings have a very poetic sensability, too. Seeing them, you would expect more visual in his poetry, and it is there, just not with the intensity that I need. He did use one of my favorite poetic concepts, tabula rasa, a lot. I use that every chance I get, and it always makes me think about his poems of innocence.

    Rich, too, is incredibly visual as a poet. I love her intelligent commentary poems. Her Ethel Rosenberg tribute floors me every time. Such power from her one little voice, a voice she was told not to have.

  2. emily

    I’m sorry for not commenting earlier…..

    Blake’s poetry is very old-fashioned to me, but I like it. It’s very different than reading contemporary poetry. Some of his poetry can more visual, though I feel like the strict rhyme scheme he kept can limit the visual. I think my favorite when I read my “assignment” yesterday was “The Garden of Love”. I also like his etchings.

    And Rich is wonderful. She just is. Her poems are so aware and so personal at the same time. That’s what I love about them.

  3. OK, first of all, how did I not notice this on fb? I have spent an inordinate amount of time there lately.

    Second, poetic confessions: I am just now reading my first actual collection of Rich poems (the school among the ruins) and loving it.

    And I’m not sure I’ve read any William Blake.

    Oh yes, we studied “Tiger, Tiger” in school.

    Off to read more!

Leave a Reply

