An Open Letter to her Other Lover

February 25, 2008

When I see evidence of her heart break,
the woman who stole love from me,

I feel a smile hiding behind my surface
of worried eyes, wrinkle like an exclamation
point between my brows. I know that her

ache, her ball of yarn and cobwebs
that rests atop her toungue, at the back
of her throught is not as large, as gargantuanly

heavy as mine. I know that you will go
to heal her wounds; I know the face you will make

like that day you answered my door when I came
home early from running, blood rushing down into
my socks, and you cleaned me. I know my weight

will increase as you make those faces at her, and
that the knife wiggling with her heart beats
stabs me twice as deep, with a wound that will not

be mended, but still, I can’t help but feel a little satisfied.

1 Comment

Filed under lust and love, Musings, poetry

One response to “An Open Letter to her Other Lover

Leave a Reply

