Why Poetry?

We’ve all been asked. I write posts about why poetry matters all the time. I write posts about why other people have chosen poetry. I write posts about why I choose poetry, why I continue to choose poetry.

When I was a kid, I wrote a poem about a talking turkey. I handed it to an adult, and they read it and told me how well I’d done. I realized something: when you write a poem, no one can tell you you lied.

Honesty has always been really important to me. I’ve spent my life trying to say things and being told I’m emotional, dramatic, over blown. I’ve spent my life proving the truth. Poetry has always been my biggest, strongest ally. Poetry offers safe haven to all of us, disenfranchised or not.

I am a walking, breathing contradiction. Poetry is the only thing I can do to fit this person I am.

4 Comments

Filed under poetry, writing

4 responses to “Why Poetry?

  1. polkadotwitch

    have you been in the room with me and my therapist for the last couple years? here: “Honesty has always been really important to me. I’ve spent my life trying to say things and being told I’m emotional, dramatic, over blown. I’ve spent my life proving the truth. ” … the over-riding themes of my life. thanks for providing clarity on them.

  2. I sometimes think poems are an attempt to transcend this central nervous system existence. They are born in it – yet are not of it. They are a mix of yin and yang, rational and irrational, left and right, and so on… as if fighting fire with fire – duality with duality .

    Poems bang on glass walls shouting Hey What About This! Hey Look At That! Yo this is what it is like!

    I think you are a wonderful glass rapping seeker and speaker of truth.

  3. Thank you all for your thoughts on this post.

    I think about why poetry a lot. I get asked it a lot. Especially as I used to work for a mental health non-profit where poetry writing looked like a massive waste of time when all these people were stuck out on the streets confused and medication-less.

    I think that this post gets to it better than a lot of the others I have written. I think I may need a whole Why? tag.

Leave a Reply

