We were young

His hair glowed gold when I saw light
again. How much harm could he do?

We were young. I was very young,
and he was the same age as I, and
how much harm could such little arms
do. His hair glowed gold when the lamp

shone above him and my eyes had grown
accustomed to the dark. Am I a liar

still when we were so young that no harm
could really be done? I placed one foot
in front of the other on the stairs, I kept
my mouth shut. I hear the laughter still

Leave a comment

Filed under Frustrations and Rants, poetry

Leave a Reply

