The death of a

I think that all of us experience a honeymoon phase with any new job. When I first started working in vocational social work, I love love loved it. It gave me a giddy high every day to “help” people. Then I met a few people who really didn’t want to be helped. I ran up against the brick walls of bureaucracy once, twice, daily.

Finally, I gave up and hated my job. I still loathe it.

It’s not just we social workers who are, as clients often insinuate, in the wrong line of work. LK had an intense job honeymoon. Now, she wants to punch her boss and half the people that she serves.

Spending so much time hating my job just stands in the way of doing something about the fact that I hate my job. hmmm

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

