An Open Letter to Everyone I’ve Ever Let Down

June 7, 2007

I’m not sure what
our story is, but that’s
probably a good bit
of the problem
did I forget to meet
you in a park? Did I try
lamely, or leave the party
earlier than you wanted?
Did you build
images
of sensual excitement
and wonder in your mind,
only to balk when you discovered
we were in a rut?

I’m sure I told you,
as I told all
the others
that I am bound
to dissapoint. There will be
weeks, even months and years when
I forget to call, to stop in,
and nights when I just
don’t want to anything.
It all started
with pumpkin carving dates, nights
of endless talk, getting wipped
in a leather bar where neither
of us had ever been. It was
exciting for you, and you wondered
if I was your muse, or if you were
mine.
You couldn’t know
then, you couldn’t know that
to me, a professional novitate,
everything I do is new.

Leave a comment

Filed under Frustrations and Rants, lust and love, Musings, poetry

Leave a Reply

