Putting it up

I’ve packed it away
already.  I didn’t bother
with washing, or mothballs.
I didn’t fold it nicely, or even
put it somewhere it could easily
be reached.  I’ve shoved it

into the farthest reaches
of the closet, in the basement
behind the washer.  I put it
where I’ll forget to get it
when I go to move,

and the next tenant
will find it, and wonder
what happened
that I didn’t want this love.

Leave a comment

Filed under Frustrations and Rants, lust and love, Musings, poetry, writing

Leave a Reply

