Ritual

You knew the power of these words
to exorcise feelings, and so
you warned me then
                                        of course
I never listened, never quit
writing love poems, so I’ll
never be in love, because I can’t
                                                have a feeling
I’m committing to words.
I safegaurd my muse, and laugh
thru this relic filled ritual, but when 
                                                              I set these notebooks
aside to assist, you’ve returned
to your mission, and I’m
the one who breaks  my heart
                                                 a little at a time.

4 Comments

Filed under Frustrations and Rants, lust and love, Musings, poetry, writing

4 responses to “Ritual

  1. Leo

    This was beautiful!

    and I’m
    the one who breaks my heart
    a little at a time.
    loved this line!

  2. Wow. The ending is everything.

  3. Hello hello

    I wasn’t sure about those last two lines. However, perhaps they are ok. Thank you both for the feedback. Here is the current draft.

    Ritual

    You knew the power of verse
    to exorcize feeling, and so
    you warned me then
    of course
    I never listened, never quit
    writing this love I’ll
    never live because I can’t
    have a feeling
    and coit it to words. I safegaurd
    my muse and laugh and play
    with your relics, your stiff latin,
    and when I set aside
    these notebooks to assist in my cleansing,
    you’ve begun another mission, and I’m still
    the one who breaks my heart
    a little at a time.

  4. Hello hello

    I wasn’t sure about those last two lines. However, perhaps they are ok. Thank you both for the feedback. Here is the current draft.

    Ritual

    You knew the power of verse
    to exorcize feeling, and so
    you warned me then
    of course
    I never listened, never quit
    writing this love I’ll
    never live because I can’t
    have a feeling
    and commit it to words. I safegaurd
    my muse and laugh and play
    with your relics, your stiff latin,
    and when I set aside
    these notebooks to assist in my cleansing,
    you’ve begun another mission, and I’m still
    the one who breaks my heart
    a little at a time.

Leave a Reply

