Ponder

I’ve been figuring things out a lot lately.  For instance, when I leave the apartment for more than a few hours, I need to take the toilet paper off the roll.  I came back yesterday to find it in a pile in the floor.  It’s too cold to think, but I keep doing it.  I keep finding things that are worthy of serious pondering.

Once, I nearly drove off a country road watching a ribbon of birds twist and turn over the road.  I was busy wondering how they all knew to move that way, where they were going, and how to describe the movements, the swooping and diving. 

In a few weeks, I’m going to New York.  I’ve been going over my old journal and checking out what I’d like to do there.  I found a list of places I’d written that I wanted to visit, but hadn’t (like Dior).  I found the sketch I’d drawn of the odd layout of Prada.  I’m not just visiting friends, either: I’m taking one with me.  A few of you are from NYC.  Where should we go?  Where are good places to ponder? 

4 Comments

Filed under Musings, writing

4 responses to “Ponder

  1. When are you going to New York, and please please please publish your list, as I am going to, in 41 days 🙂

  2. I spent a Christmas in New York, and it was lovely. Can’t remember specific places, though; we spent most of the time visiting friends. Pretty much anything you do there is fun, IMHO. Enjoy!!

  3. Pingback: Hiding in Plain Sight « The Show Must Go On

  4. Michele

    I am from New York. Here you go –

    Morell’s Wine Bar – Wine by the glass, a view of the Christmas tree at Rockefeller Center. 49th between 5th & 6th Aves.

    Century 21 – European designer clothes at a deep discount. Across from Ground Zero.

    The Whitney museum, the Met (new Americans in Paris exhibit).

    Payard Patisserie – best French pastry shop. Lexington, between 73rd and 74th.

    Lady M – best cake. Try the signature Lady M Mille Crepes.

    Shopping – Soho. Prince Street, Spring Street. Prada in there too.

Leave a Reply

