Quiet

Lately, I’m not sure what to say.  I’ve been feeling quiet; I’ve been enjoying listening.  Life is always rearranging itself.  I just have to roll with it.  I think a large piece of that is listening.  Hearing.  I think that listening is an art-form that is ignored a lot today.  It takes a lot of concentration. 

Today, the sky beyond nearly bare trees is cloudy and ominous.  There is a pink-white tinge to it.  I want to go and run into it.  Like that poem about a climber of birches.  Oh, Halloween, you aren’t meant to be so quiet.  A friend called the other day and told me that she has been feeling this way, too.  Like she has something to say, but keeps choking on it.  Why does this feel so hard?  I like words, they are  my friends.  Lately, though, I just want to run from them, or into them.  I don’t know.

4 Comments

Filed under lust and love, Musings, poetry

4 responses to “Quiet

  1. Adagio

    “First you need only look: Notice and honor the radiance of Everything about you… Play in this universe. Tend All these shining things around you: The smallest plant, the creatures and objects in your care. Be gentle and nurture. Listen…” – Anne Hillman

  2. I find myself struggling with some of the same things. I can never get the right balance of peace and quiet. The quiet sometimes just does not bring the peace. It’s all very difficult this life thing that we do.

  3. Interesting thoughts put in all the right words. You do seem to own them (words) way better than most. Part of that comes from listening to others. It’s good that you like doing it.

  4. I get that feeling sometimes too. It’ll pass.

Leave a Reply

