Hunger

That’s the thing about hunger

it seeps in while you aren’t paying
attention and takes center stage.
I woke at 4 am with a thunderstorm

in belly and an aching body.  Witholding
my secrets has put nothing
on the table but the ice and moldy twigs

of winter.  How easy it would be
to just go foraging, to go searching,
and find something better, but for that
I’ll need better bait.  I’ll cut a hole

in the ice and dangle a string.  Hours later
I just have wet twigs freezing on ice.  If this
is what my hunger brings, I’ll let it fester
and age to fertilize a future meal.

2 Comments

Filed under lust and love, Musings, poetry, Uncategorized, writing

2 responses to “Hunger

  1. “I’ll let it fester
    and age to fertilize a future meal.”

    Great last line!

    Nic

  2. I just found your blog, and am enjoying wandering around your posts. I also love the last line of this one. Waiting can be so difficult sometimes.
    Can’t wait to read more.
    BendingPeak

Leave a Reply

