Authenticity and Poetry Thursday

In the end, I am left
only with me.  This voice
so quiet you mistake it
for weakness, for faltering.

We sit on the porch and hold
mosquitoes at bay with candles.
Do I disappoint when
at the end of the night, I leave
them without a thought for longing?

I’ll never know, because a pacifist
can never come to grips
with bloodlust, the metallic taste

that sticks to your lips.  After
your first you’ll go for it
again and again, but like cocaine,
it’s never as good as the first time.
I’ve a penchant for peace,

a skill for creating silence, but war
has a way of infiltrating me.

6 Comments

Filed under Frustrations and Rants, literature, Musings, poetry, poetry thursday, Uncategorized, work, writing

6 responses to “Authenticity and Poetry Thursday

  1. I’m at a loss for words. Honestly looking for something to say, but can’t find the right tone.
    Excellent!

  2. Wow…this one will take some processing. Interesting…

  3. this has left me wondering who the “you” is in the poem.
    this quiet determination of this line gets me right in the gut:
    This voice
    so quiet you mistake it
    for weakness, for faltering.

  4. Love the metallic taste on the lips, the bloodlust. Obviously I am in agreement with this poem – how violence is “like cocaine” (what a great comparison!) Very timely piece.

  5. Thank you all. I feel like I sort of threw this one out there. I’ve gone back and fixed some of the editorial problems.

  6. I’ve a penchant for peace,

    a skill for creating silence, but war
    has a way of infiltrating me.

    nice

Leave a Reply

