The Good Life

Occasionally, I get bored, I get in a rush
I start to panic and forget to do things.

Occasionally, I forget myself.  I forget who I’ve worked to be
and start to be another person all together.  And then I notice
and get a little angry, and a little tired.  It happens

when I get stuck behind a pile
of paperwork and files,
when I get in front of a class
and a student asks to talk
in my office, and then tells
the saddest stories

I’ve ever witnessed.  Later
the worst of them will float
back across my brain
and I’ll remember how good

it is to be able to sit and write stanzas
and lines and sestinas instead of sitting,
waiting for him to grab me

by the hair and drag
me around the house.

5 Comments

Filed under Frustrations and Rants, Musings, poetry, Uncategorized

5 responses to “The Good Life

  1. Wow, amazing ending:

    “waiting for him to grab me

    by the hair and drag
    me around the house.”

    Very sad, very powerful.

  2. thanks. sadly, it is true to life.

  3. Great poem,

    I can relate to this:

    Occasionally, I forget myself. I forget who I’ve worked to be
    and start to be another person all together. And then I notice
    and get a little angry, and a little tired. It happens

  4. Pingback: Brush child

  5. thank you all for your kind comments on this poem.

Leave a Reply

