Sexy Poetry Thursday

This week, we were supposed to write a poem about sex.  I’ve already posted about how, as the season changed into spring, my writing started to swing towards sex.  So, I have a little cache of sex poetry, however, I wrote a whole new one this week to share with all of you poets on the web…

Need

We are only
arms, legs,
and the places

where they meet
in these minutes
before dawn.

A basket
of newspapers
waits by the door

there is wet laundry
in the washing machine.
The sweat pools

in the small of my back,
and your fingers paint
vines and flowers.

I taste the salt,
with this ink we write
on hearts.

10 Comments

Filed under lust and love, Musings, poetry, Uncategorized, writing

10 responses to “Sexy Poetry Thursday

  1. For some reason, I really love these little details:

    A basket
    of newspapers
    waits by the door

    there is wet laundry
    in the washing machine.

    Makes it seem so simple and familiar. And the ending is, of course, lovely.

  2. jzr

    Lovely, simple and sweet!

  3. Oh, I love this, especially this bit:

    The sweat pools

    in the small of my back,
    and your fingers paint
    vines and flowers.

    I love the intertwining of the domestic with the sensual. Gorgeous.

  4. Jim

    Really nice, the capturing of the everyday, which suggests familiarity, comfort, and a little magic above the mundane.

  5. Thank you all for your kind comments. It is great to hear what you liked in the poem. Hve a great poetry thursday.

  6. I too like the juxtaposition of the everyday, which suggests the laundry can wait. For now, there are more important things such as “the ink we write on our hearts”

  7. Very nice works, I would love some feedback on mine!

    http://www.vertigoinferno.wordpress.com

  8. sounds spontaneous ( laundry still in the washer from the night before)
    the way sex sounds best

    and the first three lines enticed me to read on…

  9. I really like that all of you commented on the laundry, the recycling, etc. When I was writing the first draft, and hadn’t yet named the poem, I wanted to shw the difference and the way that we weigh different sorts of needs. They need to finish the laundry, they need to take the newspapers to the center, but, in the morning, another need seems greater.
    I love how everyone has their own interpretations of this.

  10. Everyone else has already noted how the domestic and the sensual meet and cross…I also loved this about your poem. It is so true to life–that’s what makes it resonate so deeply for me. Beautifully done…

Leave a Reply

