Christmas in July

Today I ran at five am.  I only ran four miles.  It is hot here in central Ohio, and muggy.  Because of this, there were more of my running brethren out than usual.  Towards the end of the run, I had a moment.

I was running in the street because the sidewalk was brick in this portion of the road.  A car pulled up to the curb in front of me, driving toward me with it’s light on.  We were on a collision course, but then it stopped.  Out of the car, Santa Clause appeared.  He had his flossy white hair pulled back in a pony tail.  His beard was trimmed to a summer length.  He wore nylon shorts, sock pulled up to his knees, and a t-shirt. 

I ran on, thinking about him training in the July heat for one of the worlds most famous marathons… and we aren’t talking Boston.

1 Comment

Filed under Musings, running, Uncategorized

One response to “Christmas in July

  1. Ann Spam

    Strangely enough, right now all I feel like doing is running and running till I tire out and then just giving in to the dreams sleep brings.

Leave a Reply

